On Happiness

Everyone wants happiness, but everyone has a different definition of happiness. We are all looking for happiness while it is in our hands, like someone who searches for his glasses, while they are on his nose – Ghandi. Happiness is within a person and it is not about a lifestyle. A man’s happiness exists in Christ, not in the behavioral ethics.

See the Arabic word for happiness for an explanation:

سعادة – “happiness”

It consists of 5 letters:

1. The first letter is (س) “s” which stands for (سماء) which is “heaven”

Happiness starts with heaven, because we are created by God according to his liking. When we have a strong relationship with heaven, we will be happy on earth. This includes observing heaven and the sky in nature (such as the beach, forest, mountains, etc.) It is important to spend time in nature and to make that connection with heaven. Have prayers, contemplations and meditations with heaven. Your heart, feelings and passions should be in heaven.

2. The second letter is (ع) “a’yn” which stands for (عطاء) which is “giving”

When you give, you feel happy! “…It is more blessed to give than to receive.” (Acts 20:35). Everything you have and own is actually God’s possession, but he gave it to you, so you have to give from what you have as well. Make sure it is a “service of love.” God does not care about the amount you give or what you give as long as you give with love. When you give with love, you will be happy.

3. The third letter is (ا) “a” which stands for (الاخرين) which is “others”

Others so that you abandon selfishness! Put others first before yourself. A man’s ego is what causes many problems in the world. “If any man desire to be first, the same shall be last of all, and servant of all.” (Mark 9:35). Charity creates happiness.

4. The fourth letter is (د) “d” which stands for (دموع) which is “tears”

These could be tears of joy, or tears because of tiredness. Efforts in happiness do not come from being lazy! “Cursed be he that doeth the work of the Lord deceitfully…” (Jer. 48:10). There should be tears, pain, effort and sacrifice in our work towards God. God suffered for us and for our happiness. Tears also symbolize repentance, because there is no happiness without repentance. Substances which people are addicted to give no real happiness, they all include bitterness. “They that sow in tears shall reap in joy.” (Psalm 126:5). Happiness requires tears, pain, effort and sacrifices.

5. The last letter is (ه) “h” which stands for (هناء) which is “felicity”

Felicity is inner joy and happiness. It can also be called satisfaction. Satisfaction with your life and with what you have, no matter how little.

Notice how we started with heaven and ended with a satisfied heart. “I searched a lot for you, O intangible beauty, and I finally found you in my heart” – Saint Augustine. Happiness is Christ’s existence in your heart. Try to be happy and observe all these teachings because its a sin to frustrate or sadden those around you with your unhappiness. According to your faith, God will always let you live in happiness.

To summarize:

Happiness = Heaven + Giving + Others + Tears + Felicity

– Summarized from a sermon of Pope Tawadros II, his prayers be with us.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s